Logo Nomad Travellers

How can we afford to travel non stop?  


I've made this page to collect some basic info about me and some references from several platforms (WorkAway, Helpex, Wwoofing, etc.), since I can't afford to keep active all of them at the same time. References at the bottom.


NAME: Davide

AGE: 40



Artistic and Creative projects
Natural Constructions
Alternative lifestyles


I've been travelling full time since 2010 in 4 continents, with some breaks in between, volunteering in interesting projects, meeting inspiring people, visiting amazing places, and having new enriching experiences every day.

I'm really interested in community life and ecovillages, I have a passion for handicrafts, in particular ceramic, pottery and wood carving, that is slowly turning also into a job.

I have an academic background in Architecture, and passion for Natural buildings and photography.

I love being outdoor and nature is my greatest source of inspiration.

I have experience organizing events, leading hikes and some conscious activities.

I practice several types of yoga, meditation and dance.

Maksikanagasana yoga poseMaksikanagasana yoga pose


I've already participated in dozen of projects, from small family sized one to large one (over 150 volunteers at the same time) and related to many different fields:

Natural buildings (straw-bales, cob, tree wooden platforms, bamboo, superadobe)
House maintenance
Gardening, reforestation and Permaculture
Archeological reconstruction
Arts and crafts

I'm a "Jack of all Trades" and I'm good at fixing most things.

I also pet-sitted, house-sitted and CouchSurfed uncountable times. Over 200 positive reverences available on CS.

Davide using the chainsawDavide using the chainsaw

  Davide working on clay plasterDavide working on clay plaster







 Trimming a straw bale wallTrimming a straw bale wall


It would be great to come and help you around, and offer my work, ideas, listen to your stories, learn from you in what it can be an enriching experience for both of us.

My biggest priority is to volunteer in a project where there can be a mutual benefit and exchange for host and guest. I'm interested to acquire and offer practical skills and to establish a connection with people.

I believe in a fair exchange, so I'm not interested in doing a Work Exchange project for survival or as a way to provide you low paid workforce, sorry for that.
I rather prefer to feel involved in your activities like in a family project where mutual trust and independence are the main values, and there is no need for a strict schedule or constant supervision and we can both give an added value to our lives.

I'm open to different projects and tasks other than what already specified before, as long as agreed in advance.

I love to always learn something new or to perfection the skills that I already acquired. I would appreciate also to be given the possibility during my free time, to attend the various activities going on at your place, like yoga, meditation, dance, personal-development classes and courses or use of Artistic Labs if any, just to name a few examples.

For more info on my Ceramic skills, you can checkmy recently made Instangram profile:

Instangram Artistic Creations Davide

Here instead more about Cob Decorations

Gecko drinking from a pitcherGecko drinking from a pitcher Candle holderCandle holder

Ceramic sculptureCeramic sculpture 


Mothertongue: Italian

Second Language: English

Fluent: Romanian, Spanish, French

Basic: Indonesian, German


Vegan diet (no special products needed and no problem if there are animal products on the table) and allergic Coriander Leaves (Cilantro)


Wi-Fi availability appreciated for small jobs on the internet but not essential if there is mobile network coverage, non smoker, not a drinker, I have a driving license but mostly I cycle around, rarely allergic to cat fur


- Cardiff, 2 stories house for 2 weeks with a nice old dog as a companion
- London, Apartement, 10 days
- Singapore, apartement for 5 days
- Greece in Evia Island for two weeks, in a big resort with several rustic and luxury buildings, tennis court, swimming pool, two dogs, a huge parrot, a cat and chickens
- Athens, Greece: a city apartment where I facilitated some refurbishment works while the owner was away for ten days
- Astros, Greece: seaside apartment in Peloponnesos peninsula
- Romania, Calarasi: apartment for one week
- Tromso, Norway, taking care of an apartment for people with reduced mobility
- Norway, not far from Bardufoss over the Arctic Circle, where I took care of a friendly cat and watered plants
- Gent, Belgium, city apartment

(When referred to Davide and Oti as a couple, it's because I participated in most of these projects with my ex partner)



House-Sitting UKHouse-Sitting UK


A few of the 200+ CS references https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/phidias81

- Ildar, Ukraine
David and Otilia are the coolest and most extraordinary travellers I have met so far. Their stories are deeper and more informative than any book in the World. Their lifestyles are more inspiring and demanding than those of anyone else. Their decision-making, degree of trust to the World and the
way the World takes care of them are so unique and magnetic that it's just impossible to dislike their personalities!
My home is your home!

 - Ingrid, Norway
David and his girlfriend stayed with me for 3 nights but I only was there the first night. I went away for the weekend but they watched my house and when I cam back everything was looking tip top. Thank you for that.

- Maria, Romania
Such beautiful humans like Davide and Oti you can't find everywhere. It was a blast for us to share everything in those few days when they were around. I remember when we opened the door and there was this calm couple coming in
with their so big smiles on their faces. It was just like we expected from the way they wrote the request. Not to mention how respectful they were.
Just perfect guest turning into perfect friends!

- Marta, Croatia:
I am so glad that you and Otilia stayed with my family. They were very happy to host you. And still today they like to talk about you two how nice you were. Thank you in name of my family to have chance to meet such nice people as you are.
You are always welcome to our home :))

- Kenny and Jean, Malaysia
Initially we have been corresponding with Davide and Oti for nearly 2 months before finally meeting with them and it was something that we have been looking forward to.
They are very helpful, independent, easy going and more importantly someone whom you know you can trust. We also love how they choose to live their live, by living green and leaving as little waste as possible.

Davide VadalàDavide Vadalà
In 2009 I quit my job to chase my dream of exploring our planet in a sustainable way and I haven't stopped yet. I love nature, sustainability, travel photography, handicrafts and hiking, and I never stop dreaming. More about Davide Vadala'.

You have no rights to post comments

 Oti e Davide Long Avatar We believe in a different world, where everybody can contribute as much as he can. If you want to help us to cover our expenses, consider making a small donation. Thank you, Davide & Oti  ♥ Contribute 


 Where are we now: Spain, Italy

 Going to:  New Horizons

Sunset from the top of the Rock of Gibraltar

Our last sunset in Europe before going to Africa, was definitely one to remember with magnifi ...

View of Land's End arch and cliffs in Cornwall

Today we were lucky to manage to hitchhike to Land's End, one of the extremities of United Ki ...

Transfagarasan road in Romania seen at night

I took this photo on my second night spent camping next to Balea Lake, after hitchhiking on t ...

Fireworks in front of Castel San'Angelo in Rome

Since some years on June 29th in Rome, there is a historical representation called "La girand ...

Portrait of a local woman in a traditional Indoensian village

This is a portrait I took of a local woman in the village of Nage, in Flores, Indonesia. Nage ...

Sunrise in Jatiluwih rice fields in Bali

While we have seen many rice fields in Java and in the rest of Indonesia, the rice terraces o ...

Sunset between the clouds in Gunung Lawu, Indonesia

This year we decided to spend an alternative Easter. Far away from our families in the bigges ...

A magic place in Kefalonia island: Melissani cave

We still have so many amazing places to write about, but time is not always our friend. Last ...

Share this page on...


About Us

Davide and Oti

We are Davide and Otilia, two friends with itchy feet, living a non conventional life traveling around the world and learning everyday something new....
Read more

Follow us on...

FacebookTwitterRSS FeedNomad Travellers Google+

Popular articles

Backpacking Checklist: pack everything in your luggage

Backpacking Checklist: pack ev...

With our backpacking checklist you won't forget anything anymore when going on...

22 ideas to raise money for your trip

22 ideas to raise money for yo...

What if inside your backpack, you could pack also your working place,...

Hiking in Cinque Terre and exploring its vineyards

Hiking in Cinque Terre and exp...

Riomaggiore and the rocky cliffs diving in the blue sea of Cinque...

Hiking to Les Calanques: Marseille 's hidden fjords

Hiking to Les Calanques: Marse...

Les Calanques, Marseille: teenagers diving into the blue sea at the Calanque...